Blueberries and a Salad Recipe

What to do with Blueberries…

Monday morning Mom and I picked two buckets full of blueberries. They are large, sweet and in charge. There is nothing that makes you feel more connected to the earth and your body than picking your own food. Pure bliss.

We ‘flash-froze’ most of them so that we can have frozen blueberries for a long, long time! Well, probably not that long, but it will extend their ‘shelf-life’.

To flash-freeze berries: Wash and pat berries dry. put them on a baking sheet that fits in your freezer in ONE layer. Keep them in the freezer until they are frozen and then you can just bag them and keep them in the freezer for as long as they last. They are a super sweet treat and perfect for smoothies, snacking or just the random baked good!!:)

I brought this salad to our family friend’s lunch/pool gathering…it was a hit and super packed with goodness! Made with the arugula from our very own garden, kicked up with some hemp in the dressing, healthy fats from the avocado, total protein from the quinoa…I could go on and on about the goodness in this salad…you could also just make it and enjoy the sheer tastiness.

Arugula Summer Salad with Avocado Dressing

Arugula Summer Salad with Avocado Dressing

5-6 cups arugula and finely chopped kale (mostly arugula)

1 english cucumber, peeled and finely chopped

6 (or so) radishes, finely chopped

7-8 strawberries, chopped

handful or two of blueberries

3/4 cup cooked quinoa

sprinkling of sesame seeds (or walnuts)

dressing:

1/2 of an avocado

1 clove of garlic

1 tbsp hemp seeds

2 tbsp lemon juice

3 tbsp water

1/8 tsp cayenne (more to taste)

pinch salt

Chop and throw all the salad ingredients in a salad bowl. Add all dressing ingredients to food processor and process until smooth. Toss dressing into salad. I reserved maybe half a cup for later additions… Sprinkle with sesame seeds. I brought feta for people to sprinkle if they so chose…

I also brought blueberry crumb bars from Smitten Kitchen that I made with AMANDA while she was in town Tuesday night. She’s a dietetics friend from school and she visited ust for the one night this week. It was amazing! I’ve made these bars countless times. They are my go to fruity crumby bar <3.

On Wednesday, Amanda biked with me on my run and we made Vegan & Gluten-Free Vanilla Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes only with blueberries and bananas and topped with granola and peanut butter. I use this ‘base pancake’ recipe any time I make pancakes. I think they are just awesome. We got some free bread at Great Harvest Bread Co., some ‘Blueberry Bark’ from Blueberry Haven and finished it up with some Blueberry Crumb Gelato from Santo Stefanos. I think I had a pretty blueberry-y day and gave Amanda a pretty good sampling of GH!

Grand haven pier Tuesday night. I think Amanda liked Grand Haven. I certainly enjoyed showing it off. <3.

LOVE,

Natalie

2 thoughts on “Blueberries and a Salad Recipe

Leave a Reply

