Salad Love

Making a salad is quite possibly one of the easiest things you can do. Definitely the  easiest, most wholesome, most filling and most beautiful thing you can possibly do in less than 15 minutes. It is also, perhaps, one of the sneakiest things in existence for I feel that the majority of people pass this simple fact by, calling it false. I think I’m finally bringing my mom around to my way of viewing the salad, however, my mom is healthy, willing and also has a front row seat to my many, fast, delicious creations. Just last week she made a comment about making a salad being too ‘time-consuming’ or ‘tedious’ or something of that nature. I immediately reprimanded her for the un-truth she told.

So grab your base greens…

Grab a few handfuls of your favorite veggies (or berries/fruit if you’re going that route)…

Grab some nuts/seeds/beans for a protein boost, maybe some quinoa if it’s made…

Drizzle with your preferred topping (be it simply vinegar-balsamic, premixed homemade dressing, etc)…

Possibly sprinkle with crumbly feta (or dried fruit if you’re in the fruity mood)

There is really no way to go wrong here.

Really. No way.

My last few creations have featured some combination of the following:

kale, arugula and lettuce from my garden, grated beets, grated carrots, chopped bell pepper, chopped onion, chopped tomato, cucumber, radish, mushrooms, avocado, chickpeas, quinoa, hummus (watered down to be a bit more mixable), homemade ginger dressing (from eatliverun), feta, sesame seeds… maybe some herbs from the garden…

And today I had the grand idea to nuke a homemade veggie burger  from the freezer, chop it up and throw it on my late lunch salad before work. GENIUS. So tasty, filling and wholesome.

The grated beets are by far my favorite part of any salad.

There are way too many combinations of flavors, textures and themes for salads.

I could write a book on salads.

Salads are really just meals thrown onto a plate and hugged by greens on all sides.

Vegetables all grown up and highlighted. Vegetables given their time to shine.

Oh, salad, why don’t more people ‘get’ you?

So much love,

Natalie

Leave a Reply

