Carrot Cake Smoothie and A Thousand Miles

Carrot Cake Smoothie

Fresh out of Kale yesterday morning! This inconvenience forced me to try something new that I had been wanting to try for awhile. Thank goodness because the perfection of my green smoothie has forced me into a rut – that I wouldn’t even call a rut because of how good it is.

Carrot Cake Smoothie

1 cup carrot, chopped or grated

2 ice cubes

1 frozen banana

just less than a cup nut milk

3-4 tbls of your choice of power boost (chia, flax, hemp etc)

lots of shakes of cinnamon and a few less shakes of nutmeg

an inch or two of fresh ginger

wiz it up in a food processor and garnish with granola and more cinnamon!

On a different note it is FATHER’S DAY and I’m happy to note that without the father I have I would not be living the life am fortunate enough to possess. My papa works very hard and sacrifices more than I know to do right by my sister and I. I appreciate every little bit of it even when I act less than grateful. I am working very hard to cut down on those times.

Started Father’s day by running a lovely 12 miles. I hadn’t run that far since track season before I took my break. I was supposed to go 10 but when I got to 10 I just wanted to keep going. And you know what? I did. So what if I went over my training miles for the week. If you can’t have any spontaneity with what you love you probably won’t love it for long. To keep it fresh I did what I wanted. Today’s run reminded me of why I do it. Running long is the single most selfish and real thing I have ever done. My thoughts are sporadic but centered, my body feels strong and present and all care and concern is put on hold for as long as I’m out there.

Finished it up with my strength training and then we went to breakfast at Jeanie’s Cafe. It was a first for all of us and I was curious what substantial post-long run fuel I’d be able to manage. I managed some thin, crispy multigrain blueberry pancakes with peanut butter and jelly. Pretty good! The crispy edges of the pancakes were particularly noteworthy!

Finished the day up with some family boating and Starbucks. I just took these Rhubarb Hazelnut Oatmeal Squares out of the oven. It’s my second time making them because the first was so legendary. Can’t wait to gobble some up tonight with my newly homemade hemp milk!

I’m not posting a recipe for it yet because I want to tweak it. The hemp seeds didn’t fully process so it’s a little watery and so forth. I’ll fix it up though!

The lack of pictures is a little crummy and I have a lot more thoughts but I’m craving these bars now so I’ll leave all my thoughts for another, less hungry time:)

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao-Tzu

I am so inspired by distance right now. I want to run far, I want to go fast and I want to aim high. Just for me. I don’t care if I never win a race. Running is what inspires me and right now I want to take more than a single step. !! 🙂

Leave a Reply

