Cookies, Beach and an Economical Sandwich

Good evening. I had a really lovely day. I hope you did too.

Mint Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

I made those cookies I was talking about. I shared them at the beach with my XC girlies. Sharing things you create is the best. It is truly the reason we do things like bake. Sure we enjoy the spoils ourselves but the real joy comes from nourishing the ones we love…with cookies… ;).

Mint Dark Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies

The Ultimate Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookie — Oh She Glows.

omit raisins

add in 3/4 c chocolate chips (ghiradhelli dark) and two small handfuls of fresh mint. Add the mint with the food processed ingredients to make sure that they are distributed properly and ground up. Alternatively you could probably add a 1/2-1 tsp mint extract but that is just not as fun is it?!

The mint is very subtle but if you let yourself savor and enjoy the cookie it is unmistakable.

Angela’s recipe is my go-to for an oatmeal cookie. They are truly the perfect oatmeal cookie.

Followed this up with a nice, quick 3 miler and then museum work.

I was really excited to come home and make this…

Grilled Pesto, Tomato and Baby Greens

Our mini garden has a lot of sprouts right now. Mom thinned them today and, of course, saved the leftovers. So I used the sprouts of arugula and beets in this smashing sandwich. I figure there’s bound to be plenty of nutrients tucked in there! They were ready for the long haul in the ground!


In the sandwich I used my pesto that I made from kale stems – a trick I learned from An Everlasting Meal (read it). This was a truly economical sandwich, really. The greens would have been tossed, as would have the kale stems. The tomato was starting to look super juicy as well.

Nom Nom Nom.

Here’s to tomorrow. I know it will be a great day.

Love, Natalie

Leave a Reply

