The Green Smoothie

I don’t know when it happened. All of a sudden Green Smoothies became a phenomenon. This is the kind of phenomenon I can get on board with. This is the kind that can inspire good health and longevity. The standard recipe varies minorly from person to person but I’ll throw in my two cents just because of how packed with goodness they are and let me tell you — Once you go green, you never go back….

 The Green Smoothie

 a few handfuls of freshly washed GREENS (my preference is kale, spinach is a  nice alternative)

 one frozen banana

 about a cup of nut milk

 –add the greens first, just fill your food processor with them. add the banana and nut milk on top and blend. add more nut milk to your desired consistency.

 –this is really all you need for a classic green smoothie. However, I never leave mine be.

My favorite combination is as follows:

2-3 tbls hemp seeds, 1 tbls ground flax, 1 tbls peanut or other nut butter, a generous inch of fresh ginger and a few shakes of ground cinnamon

I am generally disappointed whenever I stray from this staple combination. I’m always one for trying new things but, hey, if it’s not broken DON”T fix it!

We have a surplus of ginger mint in our garden right now and I’m exited to add some of that tomorrow morning. This time I don’t think it will disappoint. It’s only a slight variation that I think will be safe:)

The nitty gritty:

HEMP contains

* All 20 amino acids, including the 9 essential amino acids (EAAs) our bodies cannot produce.
* The simple proteins that strengthen immunity and fend off toxins.
* Eating hemp seeds in any form could aid, if not heal, people suffering from immune deficiency diseases.

* Nature’s highest botanical source of essential fatty acid, with more essential fatty acid than flax or any other nut or seed oil.
* A perfect 3:1 ratio of Omega-6 Linoleic Acid and Omega-3 Linolenic Acid – for cardiovascular health and general strengthening of the immune system.
* A superior vegetarian source of protein considered easily digestible.
* A rich source of phytonutrients, the disease-protective element of plants with benefits protecting your immunity, bloodstream, tissues, cells, skin, organs and mitochondria.
* The richest known source of polyunsaturated essential fatty acids. Read more at http://bodyecology.com/articles/hemp_nutty_food_source_good_for_you.php

KALE

One cup of kale contains 36 calories, 5 grams of fiber, and 15% of the daily requirement of calcium and vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), 40% of magnesium, 180% of vitamin A, 200% of vitamin C, and 1,020% of vitamin K. It is also a good source of minerals copper, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

WOW – Kale is the “QUEEN OF GREENS” and your body will thank you for consuming copious amounts in these smoothies you will crave endlessly. Kale is especially known for its high levels of vitamins A, C and K. If you know anything about vitamins you know that these three do rocking things for your body. Read more at http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/features/the-truth-about-kale

Also, Kale is an incredible deal. I get mine for about $1.69 a bunch which is good for quite a few smoothies. When you consider all the benefits this is probably the best and most unsung value America has ever seen!

FLAX

I know flax has a wealth of benefits as well, however, I add them to my smoothies because they have been shown to reduce inflammation and improve joint health. As a runner, I see no reason to forgo this benefit!

GINGER

I love ginger. It’s awesome for you. I love it. That is all.

Leave a Reply

